Hello Guest User,

Please feel free to have a look around the forum but be aware that as an unregistered guest you can't see all of it and you can't post.

To access these 'Registered Users Only' areas simply register and login.

Re-assembly order of rings, pistons & studs

Need help restoring, building, or finding then try here.

Moderators: chrisu, paul doran, Taffus, KeithZ1R

Kwackman
100Club
100Club

Re-assembly order of rings, pistons & studs

#1 PostAuthor: Kwackman » Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:27 pm

Hi,
My engine (Z400J) is being put back together again, I've a query about the order to do things.

My thinking is to put the rings on the pistons first, then fit the pistons to the conrods, then insert the 12 engine studs.
Is there anything wrong with doing it this way? Seems easier to me, but I've no previous experience so I might be missing something.

All the pics in the manuaI seem to have the studs installed before the pistons are fitted, and then rings fitted to the pistons already fitted to the conrods. But maybe that's because of the order they come apart?

As usual, thanks for any advice.
2006 ZRX1200R
1982 Z400J project

ex owner of Z1100R
GXI 2752 are you out there?

zed1015
Hardcore
Hardcore

Re: Re-assembly order of rings, pistons & studs

#2 PostAuthor: zed1015 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:41 pm

Best way is rings on pistons first ( once they've been gapped in the bores if new) and then fit to rods.
Doesn't matter either way if the studs are put in first or last if the pistons etc don't interfere with their installation and the base gasket slips easily over the pistons, which it should.

Kwackman
100Club
100Club

#3 PostAuthor: Kwackman » Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:07 pm

Great, thanks Zed1015 (again!). :)
2006 ZRX1200R
1982 Z400J project

ex owner of Z1100R

Philippe
Hardcore
Hardcore

#4 PostAuthor: Philippe » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:01 am

Hi Kwackman

I've restored a Z400J a few months ago. Just let me give you some advice. :gom