Hello Guest User,

Please feel free to have a look around the forum but be aware that as an unregistered guest you can't see all of it and you can't post.

To access these 'Registered Users Only' areas simply register and login.

Z900-A4 Hazard relay

Need help restoring, building, or finding then try here.

Moderators: KeithZ1R, chrisu, paul doran, Taffus

Message
Author
User avatar
DogsbolloxofZ1B
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 1319
Joined: 28th Feb 2006
Location: Near Chichester

Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#1 PostAuthor: DogsbolloxofZ1B » Tue Apr 16, 2019 6:15 pm

Just beginning to recommission a Z900 with 2800 miles
from new. All the elecs work fine apart from hazards they are
racing away and its the same with all my spare
relays. Has anyone had this problem and solved it?
I know there is a rectifier module connected to it and I'm trying to
locate a spare I have so I can test it.

Mike

User avatar
z1bman
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 4215
Joined: 3rd Mar 2010
Location: WORDSLEY WEST MIDLANDS

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#2 PostAuthor: z1bman » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:40 pm

do they work as they should if you disconnect the flasher relay

User avatar
DogsbolloxofZ1B
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 1319
Joined: 28th Feb 2006
Location: Near Chichester

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#3 PostAuthor: DogsbolloxofZ1B » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:48 pm

The LH & RH indicators work fine of the flasher relay
its just when you raise the hazard knob the hazard relay flashes very fast probably 4x the frequency of the flasher relay.

needaz1100r
Custard Cream
Custard Cream
Posts: 956
Joined: 11th Sep 2012
Location: Reading
Contact:

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#4 PostAuthor: needaz1100r » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:14 pm

DogsbolloxofZ1B wrote:The LH & RH indicators work fine of the flasher relay
its just when you raise the hazard knob the hazard relay flashes very fast probably 4x the frequency of the flasher relay.


Those relays are bi-metallic, so they use heat generated by current to operate, more current, more heat, faster flash. If it's a seperate relay for the flash, 4 bulbs draws more current than 2, so it needs to be of a higher current rating, don't know if the rating is printed on them but a wrong rated flasher could cause this.. A short circuit could do the same.
Cheers,

Mark.

User avatar
ZedHead
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 2486
Joined: 9th May 2009
Location: Darlington
Contact:

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#5 PostAuthor: ZedHead » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:28 pm

Swap the relays over and see what happens

garyd
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 2182
Joined: 11th Jun 2011
Location: West of London

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#6 PostAuthor: garyd » Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:30 am

Throw it away...they were all binned back then for good reason....and age/originality doesn't over rule the fact that it was a shit idea to fit them.

User avatar
Ultim8pc
Custard Cream
Custard Cream
Posts: 961
Joined: 5th Sep 2014
Location: Keighley, West yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#7 PostAuthor: Ultim8pc » Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:42 am

garyd wrote:Throw it away...they were all binned back then for good reason....and age/originality doesn't over rule the fact that it was a shit idea to fit them.

I always remove them but keep them and pass them on to any discerning owner who may have a desire to refit...
:wink:
http://www.airevalleyclassics.co.uk
http://www.quick-glo.co.uk
z900a5
z1000a1 (In bits)
Z1000 MK2 (Project)
z1000ST (in bits)
z1000Ltd (Project)
ZRX1200r

User avatar
DogsbolloxofZ1B
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 1319
Joined: 28th Feb 2006
Location: Near Chichester

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#8 PostAuthor: DogsbolloxofZ1B » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:40 pm

Thanks guys I'll plod on and try to diagnose.
I thought they were a Capacitive / Resistive unit
so tau is dependent on the time constant of the two
with a couple of diodes to protect against back emf.

User avatar
z1bman
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 4215
Joined: 3rd Mar 2010
Location: WORDSLEY WEST MIDLANDS

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#9 PostAuthor: z1bman » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:09 pm

has it still got the resistor fitted to the relay to prevent back feed through the orange wire when the hazards are turned on ?

User avatar
DogsbolloxofZ1B
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 1319
Joined: 28th Feb 2006
Location: Near Chichester

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#10 PostAuthor: DogsbolloxofZ1B » Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:59 pm

Hi,
I've got that plugged into the flasher relay
which looks correct to wiring diagram. There is a seperste black finned unit that has two diodes in + another lead
which both connect to the hazard relay.
Again looks correct to Z900 euro wiring diag.
Have I got something wrong?

User avatar
z1bman
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 4215
Joined: 3rd Mar 2010
Location: WORDSLEY WEST MIDLANDS

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#11 PostAuthor: z1bman » Sat Apr 20, 2019 11:09 am

do a resistance check on the diode there should be resistance one way but not in the other

User avatar
DogsbolloxofZ1B
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 1319
Joined: 28th Feb 2006
Location: Near Chichester

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#12 PostAuthor: DogsbolloxofZ1B » Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:06 pm

Cheers just trying to locate my true RMS multi meter
I put somewhere safe about 3 yrs ago.

User avatar
z1bman
Hardcore
Hardcore
Posts: 4215
Joined: 3rd Mar 2010
Location: WORDSLEY WEST MIDLANDS

Re: Z900-A4 Hazard relay

#13 PostAuthor: z1bman » Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:12 pm

if you disconnect the flasher relay it should rule out the in line resistor & should flash normal when the hazards are switched on


Return to “Bike Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests