Hello Guest User,

Please feel free to have a look around the forum but be aware that as an unregistered guest you can't see all of it and you can't post.

To access these 'Registered Users Only' areas simply register and login.

Supercharger boost pressure.

Need help restoring, building, or finding then try here.

Moderators: paul doran, Taffus, KeithZ1R, chrisu

zed1015
Hardcore
Hardcore

Supercharger boost pressure.

#1 PostAuthor: zed1015 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:52 pm

Ok. Not very often i ask for advice. In fact this is my first time so be gentle :) . Maybe i'm having blonde moment but why is my boost gauge only reading vac (in/hg). When blipping the throttle the gauge goes from 0 to -30 and back. Even when holding constant revs the needle never goes into + psi. Gauge feed is from the plenum so surely must be pressurised ?. Am i missing something ?.

Big Fluff
Hardcore
Hardcore

#2 PostAuthor: Big Fluff » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:46 am

Hmmm.. First thought, if you're using a glycerine damped gauge, is to make sure that there is not too much fluid in there. Ideally leave a big bubble in there. Mine was overfilled from the factory (ATP) and gave really far out readings (resulting in smashed pistons etc.).

Negative readings:- When the throttle is opened, the plenum area will become a vacuum as it tries to suck air & fuel in, just like any 'nat asp' engine.

Positive readings:- You'll never get the needle to move into the positive pressure scale unless you really load the engine, and this is only achievable when on the road.! I remember thinking exactly the same when I first rebuilt my turbo bike.
Take it out on the road and you'll see :wink:
Kawasaki GPz750T, Kawasaki ZRX1100R, Kawasaki GPZ1000RX, H**** VF1000RG Rothmans, H**** VF500F2F, H**** CB1100RD, Suzuki GSX1100EFE, H**** XL125K2

zed1015
Hardcore
Hardcore

#3 PostAuthor: zed1015 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:14 am